The Aeolian Islands

The Aeolian Islands, also called the Liparic Islands, are located within sight of VILLA SICULA off the north coast of Sicily in the Tyrrhenian Sea. This archipelago belongs to the region of Sicily and consists of seven inhabited islands with a total size of approximately 45 square miles. The islands are all of volcanic origin and were declared UNESCO World Natural Heritage in 2000. The largest island is Lipari with 14.47 sq. miles followed in size by Salina, Vulcano, Stromboli, Filicudi and Alcudi and the smallest island Panarea at only 1.3 sq. miles. There are also smaller, uninhabited islets and rocky cliffs, like Strombolicchio near Stromboli.